Page tree
Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Sometimes you may need to get your users registered with your iSpring Learn account on their own. This way, you will save a lot of time and check how self-organized your students are. 

Imagine a typical situation — new sales managers joined your company and you need to educate them. Send them a sign up link by email or via messengers and from time to time monitor the results by using the activation history and reports

After new hires follow the link and fill out the sign up form, they will end up in their personal accounts. They already belong to a specific department as you have previously set it when generating the link. In this case, it is the Sales department.

In the user portal, new employees will see content they are supposed to study as you have earlier created an autoenrollment rule.

Enabling Sign Up

First of all, enable self-registration in your account:

  1. Open the Settings section, select the Additional Options tab and click Sign Up.
  2. Then, check Enable sign up for users and save changes.

Sign Up Profiles

Next step is creating a sign up profile which includes:

  • a user sign up link,
  • a department users will belong to,
  • duration,
  • the number of activations.

Only Account Owner, Account Administrator, Department Administrator and users, who are permitted to add user sign up profiles in accordance with their custom role settings, can add self-registration profiles. 

Department Administrators and users with custom roles can choose only the departments they manage and their daughter departments when creating a profile.

Creating a Sign Up Profile

  1. Go to the Users section, open the Sign up Profiles tab and click New Profile.



  2. Now fill out the sign up profile fields and hit the Create button.



    Profile NameThe title of a profile you are going to create.
    DepartmentUsers, who will get registered with a user sign up link from this profile, end up in this department.
    DurationThe link will be active within this time range: learners will be able to follow it and sign up to the account.
    Number of activations

    This number of times users can use this link to get registered in your account. 

  3. Now that you have added a profile, copy the sign up link and distribute it among your learners. 

  

Editing a Sign Up Profile

You can copy the user sign up link and edit the profile at any point. 

  1. Go to the Sign up Profiles tab, check the profile and click Edit.



  2. Here you can change the profile name, duration and number of activations, choose another department for the profile, as well as view the link activation history. 


Profile Activation History

Under the Profile Activation History tab, check who of learners already completed their sign up.



If in the history there are some learners belonging to departments you don't manage, you will see a message saying that there are hidden users in the list. This may happen because of two reasons:

  1. A user self-registered in a department you are managing. Later, they have been transferred to another department you don't manage. 

  2. A learner signed up to a department you manage because it was chosen in the sign up profile settings. However, later the profile was changed and its department was swapped with the one you don't manage.

Deleting a Sign Up Profile

If you no longer need the profile, remove it.

  1. Check the profile or multiple profiles and click Delete.



  2. Then, confirm the removal in the Delete Profile window.



If you delete a department used for a sign up profile, it will be also removed.

User Sign Up

When users follow the user sign up link, they fill out the self-registration form. The fields in this form coincide with the add user form

The link is active:

  • within the date range specified in the Duration field. The link won't be working before the start date and time and after the end date and time. Important: check which timezone is chosen in the account settings.
  • until all sign up attempts expire. 

After the Sign Up button is clicked, learners find themselves in the My Courses section of the user portal. Once there, they will see all assigned courses (if there was an autoenrollment rule created) and can start studying them.


  • No labels