The Catalog is a collection of additional courses available to all account users. Here, you can add books on negotiation techniques and sign language, lectures on psychology and leadership, video tutorials on drawing and cooking, and anything else you can imagine.
Some of your users may not need all the materials. For instance, a web design video course might not be that useful for accountants, and programmers most likely won't be interested in a flipbook about social media marketing.
In this new version of the Catalog, you can give access to a category to a certain number of departments. For example, make the Welcome to Company category available only for the New Hires department. New employees will see this category in the Catalog section, and other staff members will not.
Selecting a department for a category comes in handy when there are multilingual employees in the company. Open the Les Technique de Vente category, which includes content in French only for the French Branch Office department, and it will be available only to your French-speaking colleagues. English-speaking users belonging to the New York Headquarters department won't see it.
To turn on the Catalog, open the Settings section, then click the Additional Options tab and select Catalog.
On the opened page, enable and disable the Catalog, change the welcome text and instructions, and then manage the categories.
|Turn on catalog|
Enable or disable the Catalog in the account. By default, it is turned off.
Enter the welcome text. The welcome message will be displayed above the list of Catalog courses.
Add instructions on how to use the Catalog. The description will be shown above the list of Catalog courses.
To check how the Catalog will appear to your users, click the View Catalog button.
When previewing, the Account Owner or Account Administrator will see the content of all the categories of the Catalog, even if some of them aren't available for the department they belong to.
But, if the Account Owner or Account Administrator log in to the user portal and open the Catalog section, they will see only those categories that are available for the department they are associated with.
In the opened browser tab, you will see the Catalog from a user's point of view.
Adding a Category
No Category is a preset category which cannot be removed but can be renamed or deactivated. Apart from this category, you can add new ones.
- Open the Additional Options tab and click Catalog. On the opened page, hit the Add Category button.
- In the New Category window, type the category title and description, and add a thumbnail.
- Specify if the category is active. Inactive categories won't be displayed in the Catalog section of the user portal.
- Add departments that will have access to the category. Note: The category will also be available to users belonging to their daughter departments.
- Finally, hit the Save button.
Selecting Departments for a Category
While adding or editing a category, specify departments for which the category will be displayed in the Catalog section.
Let's say, you want to show the Product Training category only to the Sales department.
- Start editing the category.
- In the Edit Category window, choose a department whose users will see the category and its content. In our case, it's the Sales department.
If the department contains daughter departments, their users will also get access to the category. For example, Sales Reps is a daughter department of the Sales department, and now all its users will see the Product Training category in the Catalog.
- Finally, click Save.
That's it! Now the Product Training category is available to learners belonging to the Sales department and its daughter departments.
Activating and Deactivating a Category
When adding or editing a category, specify if it is active or not.
Editing a Category
Once you've added a new category, you can edit it.
- Click on the pen image next to the category title.
Or, click a digit under the Access column in the categories list.
- In the Edit Category window, change its title, description and thumbnail, activate and deactivate it, and manage the list of departments that have access to this category. To apply changes, click Save.
Viewing a Category
Find out how users see your category.
In the opened tab, see how your Catalog category will appear to learners.
Deleting a Category
If you no longer need a category, you can delete it.
- Click on the trash can icon next to the category.
- In the Delete category window, confirm your decision.
- The preset category cannot be deleted but can be renamed or deactivated.
- If a category is deleted, all its materials are moved into the preset category.
- If users send a request to view a content item, and later its category is removed, the request will be automatically declined.
Adding Content to Catalog
Please check out the Adding Content to Catalog article to learn more about different ways of adding courses to the Catalog.
Viewing Content in the Catalog
In the user portal, learners can open the Catalog section and view content in the categories which are available to them.
The category is visible only to users belonging to the departments which are set in the category settings.
Materials in the Catalog may be available to students after admin approval or without it.
If the training material was set to be available to users only after administrator approval, learners will need to open the content item and request to view it.
The administrator will see the request on the Dashboard page.
On the Catalog requests page, the administrator can approve or reject the request.
If the application is accepted, the material will appear in the My Courses section of the user portal.
- If admin approval is not required, users can simply open the material in the Catalog and click the Add to To Do button.
That's it! The content item has appeared in the My Courses section and learners can start studying it.