Self-registration in iSpring LMS

Summary:

What is self-registration in iSpring LMS?

Self-registration means that the user will be able to register iSpring LMS account by himself (without administrator involved) afterwards he gets the link to view private content.

Why is this feature useful?

Self-registration allows to reach maximum number of users and to get detailed statistics on their learning results.

Put the hyperlink to your course on the Web, e.g. on your corporate website, in social networks or on your personal site page. You don’t have to register every user you would like to take a course. Your learners will be able to register in iSpring LMS by themselves, right after they click the link.

Thanks to self-registration, you save your time and make access to the learning materials much easier, even for those users who don’t have an iSpring LMS account.

Put the link to the private content on the Internet and:

  • Reach huge number of people. Anyone who’d like to view your course will be able to do it in no time.
  • Get detailed statistics on self-registered users’ activity right to your iSpring LMS account (which course was viewed, for how many times was the quiz passed etc.).

How does it differ from public content? When publishing public materials, no statistics on course takers’ activity is available.

What will a self-registered user see?

There are 2 possible options.

The 1st case. If the file (presentation, course or test) inherit parent folder permissions, the user will get access to the parent folder as well.

He will see:

  • the file available by the link given
  • all the files in the parent folder, that inherit the parent folder permissions
  • files assigned to the organization by default (by self-registration, the user is added to the organization by default)

The 2nd case. If the file doesn’t inherit the parent folder permissions, the user will see:

  • the file available by the link given
  • files assigned to the organization by default (by self-registration, the user is added to the organization by default)

How to set up self-registration?

To allow self-registration, go to the Settings page, choose the Additional Options tab, and click Self-registration

01-self-registration.png

Select the Enable Self-registration checkbox and click Save.

02-self-registration-options.png

You can also choose additional options:

Confirm email address – During the self-registration process, the system may send a confirmation email. Users must follow the link in the email to activate their accounts on iSpring Learn.

Enable Domain Limitation for new accounts – This function allows you to restrict access to the LMS from unknown domains. Administrators can specify the allowed domains in the settings. Then, the self-registration process will only be available to those using email addresses from a specified domain.

Now, you can share a link to your course with someone on the web in the blog, social network or any other website. Anyone who would like to view the material can follow the link, sign up and take a course.

03-Sign up for a course.png

Please note: once the number of users in your account is maximum possible according to your iSpring plan, the registration of new users is not available. To continue inviting new users you will need to upgrade your plan.

Was this article helpful?

Thanks for your feedback!

How can we help you?

EMAIL
MESSAGE

Your request to iSpring has been submitted.

Please check your email for support replies. We reply to every message asap. If you don't hear back from us, check your spam folder and add to your list of approved senders.

Oops! Something went wrong...

Please contact them at .